38th Voyage Receives National Award

The CHARLES W. MORGAN tied up next to the USS CONSTITUTION during the 38th Voyage in July 2014.
The Charles W. Morgan tied up next to the USS Constitution during the 38th Voyage in July 2014.

The American Association for State and Local History (AASLH) announced Mystic Seaport is the winner of the Award of Merit in their 70th annual Leadership in History Awards. The Museum was honored for the exhibit, programming, and multimedia elements of the 38th Voyage of the 1841 whaleship Charles W. Morgan in 2014.

This year AASLH conferred 60 national awards honoring people, projects, exhibits, books, and organizations.

“The Leadership in History Awards is AASLH’s highest distinction and the winners represent the best in the field,” said Trina Nelson Thomas, AASLH Awards Chair and Director, Stark Art & History Venue, Stark Foundation. “This year, we are pleased to distinguish each recipient’s commitment and innovation to the interpretation of history, as well as their leadership for the future of state and local history.”

The Leadership in History Awards Program was initiated in 1945 to establish and encourage standards of excellence in the collection, preservation, and interpretation of state and local history throughout America. Each nomination is peer-reviewed by AASLH’s state captains. Final awards are decided by the Awards Committee, comprised of AASLH’s fourteen regional representatives and the National Awards Chair.

The Award of Merit recognizes excellence in history programs, projects, and people when compared with similar activities nationwide.

Presentation of the award will be made at a special banquet during the 2015 AASLH Annual Meeting in Louisville, Kentucky, on Friday, September 18. The banquet is supported by a generous contribution from the History Channel.

Visit AASLH’s website for a full listing of recipients.


All Hands on Deck: The Volunteers of Mystic Seaport